Quince pie

by

This post is over due, I know. The quinces are quickly – here anyways – disappearing from the stores, and actually- hush! don’t tell – it has been a while since I made the pie. So much for the fast and furious internet…

I made the pie from the last apple quinces I could get my hands on. Yes, I know, I’ve been babbling on and on about quinces ever since I started this blog, but I just can’t help it. Really, I try – and then there they are again, ideas bumping around in my head of what to do with these fruits of magic. There is just something elusive and magical about them, that keeps on stirring my interest. Maybe it’s the way they are unapproachable when uncooked, maybe their sweet apple-like aromas?

Quinces take quite a while cooking and a lot of sugar, too. I made the pie partly from a recipe, partly on the spur of the moment. First, I made a quince compote. That took a while. And then a while longer. Actually, so long, that I had to stop cooking and continue the day after. So if you plan to do this, make sure you have at least three hours on hand.

The idea is the following: Wash the quinces (for a 24 cm pan 3 if using apple quinces, half as much if using regular) and remove the pit. Dice into 3 cm cubes and put into a pot and cover with water, two handfulls of sugar or so. Now, decide on what kind of spice you want to use. I recommend vanilla and lemon zest – both is great with quinces. Cinnamon is another, but after Christmas, you might have had enough. I know I have. Lemon zest is essential, I think, as the fruits need a little acidity.

Cook the quinces slowly until reaching a compote like consistency. It might take a while, as I mentioned. The pieces should retain their shape, you’re not making mash here. When happy with the compote, drain completely. Keep the liquid, it’s great on yoghurt or other places where you use sweet sirups.

Meanwhile, make the pie dough and refrigerate. You probably have your own favorite recipe for that, so I won’t bother. I didn’t prebake the pie, lazy me… – and the world didn’t come to a stop and the pie was great. So up to you. Fill the pastry shell with the compote and slice up a couple of apples very finely, discarding the pit, and cover the pie. Bake for 30 min. or so at 180 C until nice and golden. Serve with a little whipped cream and maybe a drizzle of the left over sirup. Tea is nice, too. Not fruity but black, Ceylon would be my choice.

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “Quince pie”

  1. White On Rice Couple Says:

    Quince are such an amazing and interesting fruit. The first time I saw one, I thought it was a guava. Boy, was I wrong! Thanks for the recipe. Hope I can get my hands on some, still.

  2. Jesper Says:

    Thanks for stopping by, White on Rice :) Good luck tracing down some quinces – usually I find them at Middle Eastern stores.

  3. marion webber Says:

    Thanks for the good sounding wuince pie recipe ,going to definitely try it. foun a tree that is full of the marvrlous fruit. thanks again.

  4. Other Mia.. Says:

    Mia this is your auntie Liz. Do you want some quince?
    How did your name turn up here on this recipe page?

  5. Pies1 l Pie Recipes2 l Perfect Pie Recipes3 Says:

    Pies1 l Pie Recipes2 l Perfect Pie Recipes3…

    [...]Quince pie « Cooking all day[...]…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

